A team committed to excellence.

Our Governing Body

What our Governors do

Our Governing Body is made up of members of our school, and local community. We work closely with the Executive Headteacher as part of the school leadership and take an active interest in what happens at Somerset. We have responsibility for strategic planning and policy development. We work as a team to make sure the school provides a good quality education for all its pupils. You may contact the governors in writing via the school office.

Governing Body responsibilities

The Governing Body has many specific responsibilities as defined in the School Governance Regulations. They include;

  • The responsibility for the conduct of the school.
  • Setting targets in standards and achievement.
  • Statutory responsibilities regarding Special Educational Needs and Disability.
  • Ensuring policies relating to the school’s operation are prepared and are reviewed regularly.
  • Providing information for parents.
  • Financial management and meeting the Schools Financial Values Standards.
  • Personnel matters, including staff appointments as appropriate.
  • Management and maintenance of buildings.
  • Pupil discipline and behaviour.
  • Monitoring and evaluating the activities of the school.
  • Drawing up an Action Plan after an inspection by OFSTED and overseeing its implementation.

The Governing Body delegates all of its functions to a committee and the day to day running of the school and decisions to the Executive Headteacher.

The Governors

Operational Committees include:

  • Curriculum & Achievement
  • Resources

All committees report directly to the Full Governing Body.

Chair of Governors

-Clive Landa Chair of Full Governing Body & Safeguarding Governor

Vice Chair of Governors

-Helen Thouless (SEND Governor Somerset & Eastwood Nursery)

Co-opted Governors

-Helen Thouless (SEND Governor - Somerset & Eastwood Nursery)

-Francois Marshal ( Chair - Resources Committee, Safeguarding Governor - Eastwood Nursery )

-Helen Tovey (Safeguarding Governor - Somerset Nursery)

Parent Governors

-Susanna Giustiniani (WFMNS - Somerset)

-Valentine Obichigha (WFMNS - Eastwood, Health and Safety Governor)



Staff Governors

-Russell Howard

-Fiona Treadaway


Executive Headteacher

-Catherin McKeever

Associate members

-Kitty Dearman (Safeguarding Governor - Balham Nursery (Co-opted)